Home » Geek » Ad infinitum

Ad infinitum

Keeping in a math related vein, here’s a documentary entitled Dangerous Knowledge.  While its an interesting watch, I did not care for the slant that was present in the film.  As I understood it, the thinkers profiled (Cantor, Turing, et al) were not so much “destroyed” by “dangerous knowledge” as the film wants us to believe.  From what I understood, they were subject to societal (read: peer) pressures and specific personality foibles.  Often those who are avant-garde thinkers tend to have peculiar personality traits which frequently leads to mental instability.  I’m no doctor of course, but thats my general observation.  Anyway, whether I’m incorrect or not, the piece was worth a watch.

Leave a Reply

