Home » Geek » Backups

Backups

Lately I’ve been made very much aware of how lacking my backups are especially for Windows. I’ve always shyed away from using backup programs on Windows because I didn’t want to get locked in to a particular program and I prefered to manually backup specific things instead of a bulk backup. Rsync would have been a blessing, but alas there is no good rsync project for Windows. Running cygwin and doing rsync via that is a bit obtuse and not something I’d prefer to do.

I recently tried out a program from 2BrightSparks called SyncBack SE which to my surprise was quite robust as well as being user friendly. They have a demo which I’ve tried and I was happy with its ability to do simulated runs, group backups, and scheduled backups. If you’re in need for a very useful backup program for Windows, I’d suggest SyncBack SE.

Leave a Reply

