Home » Geek » Mirror mirror on the wall, who is the prettiest RAID of them all?

Mirror mirror on the wall, who is the prettiest RAID of them all?

So, recently one of the drives in my raid 1 setup (mirror) died and I had the pleasure of finding a new drive to replace it. Luckily I had thought ahead and I had a “spare” drive handy. The drive that died is supposedly under warranty so hopefully I can get an RMA and I won’t be down a drive. Its a Segate which i believes comes with a 3 year warranty. The nice thing about the mirrored raid 1 setup is the ease of drive replacement. The down side is, no real redundancy that you can seriously count on.

Here’s a quick and dirty guide to rebuilding a broken mirror:

http://aplawrence.com/Linux/rebuildraid.html

I plan on possibly upgrading my raid array from 200 gigs to something a bit beefier and moving to raid 5. I as yet don’t know how to approach that however: how many disks is best, what sizes of disks, how many controllers will i need, etc.

Also I am thinking about setting up an offsite rsync of my storage server so at least if my raid setup gets borked, I at minimum have some backups. I’ll do some testing this weekend and hopefully I can come up with something that works.

Leave a Reply

